|
 |
|

12-05-2003, 12:34 AM
|
|
Junior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
|
|
|
I have never posted on this site, but read it often to see what is happening. That is why I called myself lurker. Lately I have to scroll left to right to see the site because of that huge banner up top. That is not that big of a deal. Now the words pop up ads and the pages load much slower. There are a few new ads all over this site and it looks like the las vegas strip. Very distracting. There is another Axim website that has a few ads, but they don't hinder my reading. I get the impression that the owner has basicly sold out for the advertising money. This site can not cost that much to run.
Do what you must, but please no popups. That would make it even worse.
:unsure:
|

12-05-2003, 12:41 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 72
|
|
|
Thanks for pointing out the ads, now I notice them!
I have to agree, there are way too many right now. I'm not sure what you could do other than get rid of some.
I will say the ad words really take away from the site. PocketPCThoughts is doing it too and I can't imagine anyone actually clicking o nthem other than to just see where they lead.
|

12-05-2003, 07:44 AM
|
 |
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 340
|
|
|
I appreciate everyone's candor and criticism. All comments will be taken into consideration. Thanks.
|

12-05-2003, 09:29 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 72
|
|
|
Thank you, but the ad words must go or you need to change how they work. If I click on a ad I assume I'll be transported away from the site, but with these ad words, I can't tell whats a link to Aximuses and whats a link to a ad. I have to be honest that I don't click on links in the forums anymore because I can't tell whats a Aximusers link and whats not.
|

12-05-2003, 11:57 AM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cubicle FB-38C901Q, towards the back
Posts: 193
|
|
|
The original post in this thread by "forumlurker" is a scam.
They just want you to click on the links, to set cookies, spyware, etc. Those links are not endorsed by the site. Remember, before you start buying into what someone says or posts, do a little research. It only takes 5-10 seconds. Someone registering for the first time and posting on the same day, then trying to dissuade suspicions by commenting on how they "have been reading a long time blah blah blah" and then filling their post with scam links is a sure indicator that the post is bogus and should be ignored, as should the poster.
It is easy to tell which links are scams and which aren't. Simply hold your mouse over the link. The scam links are the ones with "advertising.com" in them.
JT$
__________________
Co-Author, Apache Tomcat Security Handbook
ISBN: 1861008309 Buy two, a brother needs his royalties
|

12-05-2003, 12:58 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 72
|
|
Quote:
|
The original post in this thread by "forumlurker" is a scam.
|
Why? I don't see any scam on his part. He just pointed out something that was bothering him and did so in a calm and constructive tone.
Quote:
|
They just want you to click on the links, to set cookies, spyware, etc.* Those links are not endorsed by the site.* Remember, before you start buying into what someone says or posts, do a little research. It only takes 5-10 seconds. Someone registering for the first time and posting on the same day, then trying to dissuade suspicions by commenting on how they "have been reading a long time blah blah blah" and then filling their post with scam links is a sure indicator that the post is bogus and should be ignored, as should the poster.
|
Uh, those links are inserted by Aximusers which is what I'm not happy about, not "forumlurker". Look at your own post! You have the same links in yours as others do.
You seem angry about these scam links and so am I, but its not the users that are inserting them, its Aximusers. I can't believe you would harp on a someone who felt strong enough about this to register.
Quote:
|
It is easy to tell which links are scams and which aren't.* Simply hold your mouse over the link.* The scam links are the ones with "advertising.com" in them.
|
Yes I can do that, but I'd rather see Aximusers remove them all together.
|

12-05-2003, 02:39 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 72
|
|
Quote:
|
Remember, before you start buying into what someone says or posts, do a little research. It only takes 5-10 seconds.
|
So why didn't you do any?
|

12-05-2003, 03:01 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cubicle FB-38C901Q, towards the back
Posts: 193
|
|
|
Hmmm...on my post, I don't see any links. Just plain text. Windows 200 Pro, IE 6, fully updated, Javascript enabled.
Sorry to disappoint.
JT$
__________________
Co-Author, Apache Tomcat Security Handbook
ISBN: 1861008309 Buy two, a brother needs his royalties
|

12-05-2003, 03:05 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cubicle FB-38C901Q, towards the back
Posts: 193
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by tempejim@Dec 5 2003, 01:58 PM
Quote:
|
You seem angry about these scam links and so am I, but its not the users that are inserting them, its Aximusers. I can't believe you would harp on a someone who felt strong enough about this to register.
|
|
Angry? Not in the slightest. You shouldn't be, either. Life's too short.
JT$
__________________
Co-Author, Apache Tomcat Security Handbook
ISBN: 1861008309 Buy two, a brother needs his royalties
|

12-05-2003, 03:25 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 72
|
|
Quote:
|
Hmmm...on my post, I don't see any links.* Just plain text.* Windows 200 Pro, IE 6, fully updated, Javascript enabled.
|
Here is a screen shot to show you since you can't see them. Its part of the forum software, not your browser. So I gues the question I have for you is what does this...
http://www.barricade.net/
Have to do with Aximusers? I guess since you highlighted "posts" it should take you to a posts site, but is this helpful to anyone?
|
 |
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
» Stats |
Members: 23,499
Threads: 8,891
Posts: 30,313
Top Poster: RommelS (2,887)
|
| Welcome to our newest member, mrsraymc |
» Advertisements |
|
|
|